Brings me joy…

To wrap up something pretty and send it in the mail. As a child, my favorite part of the day was checking the mail, even if I had nothing specific coming my way. A catalog could make my world. And a package? Forget about it…pure elation.

Maybe it’s my own love of mail that makes me enjoy sending it so much. This love of mail extends beyond packaging. I have an incredible love of written cards and letters. I never throw then away…yes, I have a box full under my bed and tucked in various drawers. It can take as little as five minutes to put words to paper, a 50 cent stamp (or however much they charge these days) and the effort to walk to the mailbox to completely send love and thoughts in a new way. And because I believe I serve a clever, funny and amazing God, I always tend to receive cards on just the right day, when I need it most. I like to think my cards make it to be in the same perfect timing.

I’ll never forget my 22nd bday…it was amazing for lots of reasons but my fave part was the fact that my dear friends had all written me a letter…talk about joy when I got to open those all at once!!

Anywho, it gives me great joy to send mail. Beyond cards though, and with a bit more effort, packages are my favorite. Not only do I get to send a gift, my favorite way of love, but I get to wrap it up all pretty. I get so irritated when I go to the post office and the post master takes no thought into where they slap the stickers down that mark up my small pieces of art with prices and patriotically colored us postal service tape.

I had the amazing joy of packaging up something special last night in preparation for my upcoming trip to Paris. I thought it would be nice to send a little excitement gift so I put this together:

20130920-085120.jpg

20130920-085131.jpg

20130920-085138.jpg

May you each find your own unique way of loving and just pour on it everyone you know!! It’s in understanding what brings us joy that we live and love to our fullest…maybe it’s something as disguisably unimportant as mail, but I think no way of loving is too insignificant.

God gave you gifts so why not share!

Leave a Reply

