In the Tradition of Friendship

I graduated high school almost 8 years ago. That is so hard to believe! During my time at LSMSA, I made some incredible friends and it is such a blessing that a handful remain an important part of my life. The Christmas directly following our graduation we gathered back in Louisiana, all coming from our respective endeavors, and had a baby reunion. I don’t think I realized then that this would become one of my most favorite parts of the holiday season. Since then, this same group of friends and I make it a point to see each other every Christmas. In fact, in the past few years, we’ve tried to make this happen twice a year: once in the summer, and once at Christmas. Life has scattered us about like leaves in the wind but what a blessing to have friends you can reconnect with, as if no days have passed at all.

My junior year at LSMSA, I became close with Jake and Melissa who were in my class, and Lucas, a senior. Their friendships were so valuable to me then as they are now. But here is the best part. Since 2005, our little family has grown to include 2 spouses: Brian, Melissa’s husband and Sarah, Jake’s wife..both of whom it seems have just always been there. They are such compliments to their partners and a blessing in my life. We’ve also introduced four little ones, with a fifth on the way. Melissa and Brian are blessed with Jordan, Gage and Cadence, with little Spencer coming soon. Jake and Sarah welcomed little miss Ella earlier this year.

There are so many things I love about the times I get with these incredible individuals. I love the girl talk Sarah, Melissa and I sneak in when the boys aren’t paying attention. I love knowing Lucas will make me laugh. It happens every visit, without fail. I love sitting back and observing the semi-grown ups we’ve all become. I love the dancing that usually ensues between me and Lucas, if we remembered to pack our gym shorts. I love loving on which ever children get to make the visit. And I love looking back over the past eight years and recalling the big moments we’ve gotten to share in each other’s lives. I am blessed, yall. Here’s a little peak over the past few years. The only Christmas get together that is missing is our very first, back in 2005.

2006:73_503980053344_2931_n

2007: 171_505122144584_2464_n (Jake and Sarah couldn’t make it down from Ruston this trip but the five of us had a great slumber party!)

2008:2064_510085587804_5098_n (we didn’t take a group picture this time but we did meet up for dinner!)

2009:IMG_3958 (we missed Mr. Haley this year)

2010: IMG_9419

2011:IMG_3801

Next weekend, we are getting together for Christmas awesomeness 2012!! That is if the world doesn’t end. Fingers crossed : )

Sweet friends, I am so proud to know each of you. Thank you for the gift of your friendship. I’m looking forward to a lifetime of these get togethers!

One response

Leave a Reply

