Happy Birthday, my sweet Anam Cara

I returned back to the US after a year in Italy in 2007. Coming back to Hendrix College, after having attended for just one year from 2005-2006, I was nervous if I’d have any friends when I got back. My year studying in Florence did amazing things in my life and made giant contributions to who I am typing for you today. I still went back to school uncertain about myself and my ability to really connect with people to build friendships of depth.

I remember my first Friday back, not having any plans, as I literally cried to God, praying for Godly men and women to be a part of my life. Just a few days later, I met Sam. (and Kristen, but today’s celebration is all about Sam)

I could not have been blessed with a better person in my life than that lady. She is everything wonderful and lovely; a true friend connected in my heart. A few years ago, I discovered this phrase: Anam Cara. It is gaellic for Soul Twin, or soul friend. And that is exactly what she is to me. 

My sweet Sam, your presence in my life has made me a better woman and I just don’t know what I would do without you. You are a truth speaking, corny joke telling, craftastic, God-fearing sister friend. I love you dearly and pray many blessings upon your 25th birthday! I pray this upcoming year is more magical and inspired than any year before! I can’t wait for of our awesome future endeavors, for years of laughs to come and to be old ladies together….because dog gone it we WILL live in the same place one day!

Image

**an oldie but a goodie…how fitting that this way taken at our Christmas Extravaganza a few years ago!

Image

**Typical 

Image

 

**This is the kind of random stuff we doing. Like pulling over on the side of the road to watch the sunset and take a picture of our new TOMS.

 

Leave a Reply

