A Little Taste of Fall…Literally

I’ve been in a bit of a funk the past couple of days. I hate when I recognize it is best that I stay away from people because of said funk. That’s a Kennedy thing, though.

Church was really good this morning, even though it left me super emotional. The message was about community and that is something I long for here. I am so thankful that I’ve met some super fantastic people in all different places, but its really wearing on my soul that I can’t get involved in a small group at my church. I need that type of community; Christ centered friendships that speak truth into my life. I’ve been so blessed with those type of friendships throughout my life…the ones that sharpen the iron of my heart and point me straight toward my God.

There are a few things that can shake my funk and I knew that today was the time to call in one of those things. As it turned out, I didn’t get to bake on Friday like I had planned but it’s almost as if God knew I would need that tactic to shake the dust off my soul two days later. So that is what I did.

I baked.

A few weeks ago I pinned this recipe for Pumpkin Cream Bread and thought I would share the process with you all. And let me tell you…it is SCRUMPTIOUS!

Ingredients:

Gather your Ingredients:

It is easiest to make the cream cheese mixture first and then set it aside. After your cream cheese is at room temperature, mix all the ingredients together in a bowl:

Blend on high with an electric mixer until nice and creamy:

***Just a side note: this mixture is DELICIOUS and ADDICTIVE so keep tasting fingers away. If there is any left over, it is great with apples. Then it becomes healthy ; )

Set cream cheese topping aside and gather up ingredients for the base of the bread.

Whisk eggs and brown sugar together until fluffy. When finished, mix in the oil, pumpkin puree and vanilla. (I forgot to take a picture of this step but don’t worry….it wasn’t an appetizing mixture)

In a separate bowl, sift together the remaining dry ingredients:

Once mixed well, stir in slowly to pumpkin mixture:

I actually doubled this recipe and was able to make 5 loaves. I potentially could have made it stretch across 6 loaves if I needed to. I used those mini loaf pans that are 5 3/4 in. long, 3 in wide, and 2 in. deep. First pour the pumpkin mixture in first:

and then top with the cream cheese mixture:

 

Pop into oven for:

I decided to add an extra 5 minutes when the buzzer *dinged* just for safe measure.

Let sit in pan for a few minutes before transferring to a drying rack:

 

And lastly,

 

It was quite scrumptious and if you’re in the baking mood, give this one a try. Sometimes we just need to set other things aside and do the thing that is good for our soul, ya know?

Have a blessed, funk-less week folks!

Leave a Reply

